FSMA — The 7 Rules

This is an online informational session on the seven FSMA Rules. The session is intended to introduce and clarify what FSMA entails. Because sections were abbreviated for these presentations, the information provided is only an overview and should not be relied upon as a substitute for reading the final rule, or obtaining legal advice, or as a summary of all regulatory requirements. Every company must conduct its own detailed review of the final rule. No certificates of completion will be issued after reading these modules.

The modules below briefly give a background of the law and cover some of the highlights of the final rules in six modules (Module II covers two rules):

Module I. Produce Safety


Module II. cGMP and Preventive Controls for Human Food


Module III. Foreign Supplier Verification Program (FSVP)

What do importers need to know? Q&A

What do manufacturers/processors covered by the Preventive Control Supply-Chain need to know about FSVP? By FDA

Compliance Dates for the Final Rule on FSVP for Importers of Food for Humans and Animals

Guidance for Industry–Compliance with Providing An Acceptable Unique Facility Identifier for the FSVP regulations

Guidance for Industry–Recognition of Acceptable Unique Facility Identifier (UFI) for the FSVP regulation


Module IV. Third Party Accreditation and Certification


Module V. Sanitary Transportation of Human and Animal Food

The U.S. FDA free online training course for carriers was published on September 21, 2017 and is available for immediate use.

Waivers from Requirements of the Sanitary Transportation of Human and Animal Food Rule were also published.


Module VI. Intentional Adulteration


For compliance dates, please consult the FSPCA reference sheets in English and in Spanish.


As part of FSMA implementation, the Food Facility Registration rule was finalized on July 14, 2016.  A summary of the requirements is included.


Please consult Upcoming Events on the right hand margin of this website for scheduled courses.